I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
I Am, I Am, I Am: Seventeen Brushes with Death Cover Image
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Jul 20 2:40am

Staff Reviews

"I Am, I Am, I Am is a breathtaking memoir about 17 moments in O’Farrell life that almost caused her death. There is no linear timeline to the stories.  They are not in order of when they happened. You can pick up anywhere and each tale reads like its own short story. In one of the tales, the author explains that she is writing these stories for her children who may run into the same issues that she has had her whole life, and hopes to help guide them when they have similar experiences. She details each of these 17 times in her life, elegantly and honestly, in a way that makes you think about similar situations that you’ve experienced and how easy and quick life passes by. Some of the stories make you sad, make you feel helpless as she details emotional roller coaster rides, while others are exhilarating and striking and make you hold your breath to see what happens next. As Maggie is already a published author of literary fiction, it’s no wonder that her elegant writing sweeps you into her life and stays with you long after you’ve finished reading."--Reviewed by Sallie

— From Sallie Recommends


"I Am I Am I Am is a gripping and glorious investigation of death that leaves the reader feeling breathless, grateful, and fully alive. Maggie O'Farrell is a miracle in every sense. I will never forget this book."
--Ann Patchett

An extraordinary memoir--told entirely in near-death experiences--from one of Britain's best-selling novelists, for fans of Wild, When Breath Becomes Air, and The Year of Magical Thinking.

We are never closer to life than when we brush up against the possibility of death.

I Am, I Am, I Am is Maggie O'Farrell's astonishing memoir of the near-death experiences that have punctuated and defined her life. The childhood illness that left her bedridden for a year, which she was not expected to survive. A teenage yearning to escape that nearly ended in disaster. An encounter with a disturbed man on a remote path. And, most terrifying of all, an ongoing, daily struggle to protect her daughter--for whom this book was written--from a condition that leaves her unimaginably vulnerable to life's myriad dangers.
Seventeen discrete encounters with Maggie at different ages, in different locations, reveal a whole life in a series of tense, visceral snapshots. In taut prose that vibrates with electricity and restrained emotion, O'Farrell captures the perils running just beneath the surface, and illuminates the preciousness, beauty, and mysteries of life itself.

About the Author

Born in Northern Ireland in 1972, MAGGIE O'FARRELL grew up in Wales and Scotland and now lives in London. She has worked as a waitress, chambermaid, bike messenger, teacher, arts administrator, and journalist in Hong Kong and London, and as the deputy literary editor of The Independent on Sunday. Her debut novel, After You'd Gone (2000) won a Betty Trask Award and was followed by My Lover's Lover (2002); The Distance Between Us (2004), winner of a Somerset Maugham Award; The Vanishing Act of Esme Lennox (2006); The Hand That First Held Mine (2010), winner of the Costa Novel Award; Instructions for a Heatwave (2013), and, most recently, This Must Be the Place (2016).

Coverage from NPR

Product Details
ISBN: 9780525520221
ISBN-10: 0525520228
Publisher: Knopf Publishing Group
Publication Date: February 6th, 2018
Pages: 304
Language: English